13 Feb

The Best SSP for Publishers

February is an excellent time to begin asking whether the SSPs connected to your ad units have the potential to earn you the maximum yield for every impression you serve. Collectively we can point to dozens of name brand SSPs that provide sufficient monetization and fill rates for publishers.

Our experience working with publishers worldwide tells us that Q4 traditionally features larger budgets and more activity in comparison to Q1, a  typically calmer quarter yielding less revenue and advertiser campaigns. Q2 is approaching and with it comes new monetization opportunities.

The use of the word working relates less to how much revenue you earned from your ad units in Q1 but instead serves as a means for evaluating the fill rates and eCPM performance of each of your ad units. This concept also relates to your critical evaluation of the quality of ads, response rates and service provided by the platform(s).

But let’s talk about what’s really important which SSP will perform the best for you and make you the most revenue for every impression! if your website has more than 5M monthly visitors and you’re not earning significant income, you should be ready to make the necessary changes

We have spent the past year researching the best programmatic supply source providers (SSPs), analyzing countless ads arriving from various sources, and interviewing our clients regarding their revenue performance.

One thing remained clear throughout: DoubleClick Ad Exchange (AdX) is the best SSP for achieving superior monetization results for your website in 2018.

AdX is the World’s Best SSP for Publishers in 2018

 

 

This year we made DoubleClick Ad Exchange (AdX) our top choice for SSP. Owned and operated by Google, AdX outperforms the competition by connecting publishers into the world’s largest exchange of global inventory.  AdX is Google’s exclusive programmatic platform featuring Real-Time Bidding (RTB) technology for premium websites to be paired with premium advertisers.

AdX pairs buyers and sellers across the industry and works with premium publishers and advertisers in the world’s largest real-time programmatic RTB bidding exchange. The AdX marketplace is connected to ad networks, agencies, and third-party demand-side platforms and powered by advertiser demand, conducted via live auction for the ad units.

If you have more than 5M visitors visiting your website per month, then you should strongly consider switching over to AdX. Publishers featuring ad units monetized by AdX expose themselves to the world’s most premium advertisers who are eager to spend significant advertising budgets on widely trafficked sites. Just this difference alone between membership in AdX equates to a substantial financial gain for the publisher who qualifies and begins using AdX.

AdX comes with AdWords buyers baked in which brings together the best of both of these worlds into one package. As a result, your website’s premium demand is amplified by the continued competitive presence of AdWords demand in the connected ad units.

Also, AdX reaches its full potential when it is enabled to compete with other networks via Google’s ad serving platform – DoubleClick for Publishers (DFP). By utilizing DFP (either Small Business or Premium), publishers can rotate between ad networks for their ad units, also, to directly selling ad space to advertisers, while always striving for 100% fill rates through the real-time competition since added competition for ad units drives the CPMs higher.

AdX vs. AdSense – Which one is right for you?

5 Ways to Boost Your Website Monetization

8 Ways to Avoid Termination of Your DoubleClick AdX Account

With a multitude of demand sources in competition for more of your website’s ad units, more bidders are involved for more ad units and the stridently pushing higher the price of the winning bids for your ad units. In the end, there’s no comparison; publishers make significantly more money by having AdX paired with DFP on their website.

Ultimately, if you’re a publisher who is aiming to maximize your advertising revenue and your website has over 5M visitors per month, then graduating to AdX should be your goal.

  • Sell your ad space to the highest-paying buyers in real-time
  • Increase revenues from premium and remnant inventory
  • Detailed reports on all of your inventory
  • Industry leading response times
  • Realize higher margins
  • Unmatched brand safety for publishers (and advertisers)

 

If you would like to join AdX and potentially make more money from your traffic, we can assist your website to maximize its potential with DoubleClick AdX.  Contact us today to get started!

 

Brian Blondy is the Marketing Manager at Total Media.  You can contact Brian by email at brian@totalmediasolutions.com or on LinkedIn

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06 Dec

Ads.txt December ’17 Updates for Publishers

Ads.txt – December News Roundup:

Today’s post is an overview of interesting and useful content we have recently read about Ads.txt.  Being that Ads.txt is a relatively new development in the programmatic industry, we thought you would appreciate a curated roundup of relevant content about Ads.txt in order to get a good overview of what Ads.txt is and how both publishers and advertisers have been adjusting to it over the final months of 2017.  If you’re interested in additional Ads.txt content, you can read our November 2017 content roundup here.

At Total Media, we have already have an abundance of experience working with premium publishers seeking to maximize their ROI with Ads.txt.  If you would like assistance with Ads.txt, we can help you with everything along the way in addition to providing you with the finest consultation. If you would like assistance with Ads.txt you can reach us here or if you would like to join Total Media’s monetization program for premium publishers click here.

 

Ads.txt – AppNexus Launches an Ads.txt Validator

AppNexus, one of the world’s leading demand platforms, launched a tool designed to assist publishers to ensure that their Ads.txt file has been configured correctly.

On the page, users can either will enter their URL or domain or upload their Ads.txt file directly.

Once finished, the AppNexus Ads.txt validator will check for:

  • Data, comments and variable declaration line
  • A recognizable exchange URL
  • Valid relationship types
  • Valid variable names

The validator doesn’t check for:

  • Valid Publisher IDs – For AppNexus this should be a three or four digit number
  • Vadility of certificate authority IDs
  • Variable values

You can view the Ads.txt Validator here – http://adstxt.adnxs.com/

 

Google Reports Ad Revenue is Increasing for Publishers Using Ads.txt

With Ads.txt continuing to be adopted by the world’s largest publishers, Google bullishly expects that Ads.txt will boost revenue for publishers whom have added the file onto their websites.

First reported by The Wall Street Journal on November 30, Google revealed that the average price of ad space purchased via their ad-buying systems has increased throughout November, a change the company attributes to increased advertiser confidence of the inventory after widespread industry adoption of Ads.txt.  As of early December 2017, nearly 50% of the world’s top 2,000 websites have already added Ads.txt onto their websites.

Since Nov. 8, Google has been actively preventing advertisers from purchasing unauthorized ad impressions on its DSPs which have been identified by Ads.txt. As a result, Google believes that they have significantly reduced the amount of counterfeit inventory in its systems.  As more unauthorized inventory is cleaned from its systems and more publishers adopt Ads.txt, Google believes that advertisers should not only increase their confidence in the inventory, but also their budgets for their next ad campaigns.

“We would expect prices to increase once we started to cut out unauthorised inventory,” said Pooja Kapoor, Google’s Head of Global Strategy and Programmatic to The Wall Street Journal.

According to Google, more than 50% of ad space available for purchase through DoubleClick Bid Manager now comes from publishers using Ads.txt to prevent unauthorized selling of impressions. Powered by the ability to filter out unauthorized inventory, Google believes that increased industry confidence in its DSP makes the inventory more premium and inheritantly more valuable.

“Advertisers and agencies may need to pay a little bit more. But if they don’t vote with their dollars then unauthorized selling will continue,” Ms. Kapoor noted.

 

 

Brian Blondy is the Marketing Manager at Total Media.  You can contact Brian by email at brian@totalmediasolutions.com or on LinkedIn

 

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27 Nov

Ads.txt November ’17 Updates for Publishers

Ads.txt – November News Roundup:

 

Today’s post is an overview of interesting and useful content we have recently read about Ads.txt.  Being that Ads.txt is a relatively new development in the programmatic industry, we thought you would appreciate a curated roundup of relevant content about Ads.txt in order to get a good overview of what Ads.txt is and how both publishers and advertisers have been adjusting to it over the final months of 2017.

At Total Media, we have already have an abundance of experience working with premium publishers seeking to maximize their ROI with Ads.txt.  If you would like assistance with Ads.txt, we can help you with everything along the way in addition to providing you with the finest consultation. If you would like assistance with Ads.txt you can reach us here or if you would like to join Total Media’s monetization program for premium publishers click here.

 

UK News Reports Increase in Revenue After Ads.txt 

During a recent speech at The Drum’s Programmatic Punch on November 9, 2017, Ian Hocking, head of programmatic at News UK, stated that the company saw a “slight incremental rise in revenue” after it adopted Ads.txt.

“Can I afford to have 100 different people selling my inventory? Our file was pretty short, we want brands and agencies to come to us and have a conversation about the best ways of using our assets. By opening yourself up to resellers you open yourself up to problems,” Hocking added.

Read the rest of the post here.

 

Are Companies Trying to Push Themselves onto Publishers’ Ads.txt Files?

 

There have been reports of prominent publishers being approached by agencies and marketing companies requesting (could be described as threatening?) to stop buying inventory unless they are added to a publisher’s Ads.txt file.   Turns out that these companies may or may not have been legitimate buyers (see Thrive interview below for an example of a possible misunderstanding) or have had a direct relationship with the publishers per se.

In essence what this means is that publishers need to be extra careful when building out their Ads.txt file both from the perspective of including all of their most relevant suppliers, in addition to being cautious of third-parties who may approach them with requests to be added to an Ads.txt file. Publishers will also need to put in place a management strategy to ensure that their Ads.txt is kept up to date.  Since there is a fair amount of confusion about Ads.txt, we thought it would be a good idea to present, without bias, an overview of how companies have been approached about revising their Ads.txt file and what professionals in the industry is saying about it.

AdExchanger OverviewRead here

Thrive Interview about Approaching Publishers for Ads.txtRead here

Reddit Discussion on the SubjectRead here

 

Ads.txt Adoption is on the Rise

Ben Kneen, author of the website AdOpsInsider, has been extensively covering the industry’s adoption of Ads.txt.  In addition to covering the nuances of Ads.txt prior to its launch on Nov. 1, 2017, Kneen has been following the adoption rate of Ads.txt in Alexa’s top ten thousand websites.

Ben is a good follow on Twitter, you can check him out here.

 

 

How Ads.txt Will Clean Up the System

 

Beet.tv published a video interview with Art Muldoon, CEO of AmNet Group US, who discussed the importance and relevance of Ads.txt for publishers seeking to minimize ad fraud taking place with their inventory.

“Today, in this world of ad fraud, too many publishers inventories have been spoofed. So Ads.txt is a great initiative, publisher-led but demand-supported, to help clean up that path,” said Muldoon. “We need more accountability, more transparency, so that our intended investment reaches the recipient in that way.”

Watch the interview here.

 

IAB Ads.txt Standardization Guide

 

 

If you’re still unsure what Ads.txt is (you can read our recent summary here) or how to implement it onto your website, the IAB produced a useful technical guide for publishers which explains the basis for Ads.txt and a in-depth guide for webmasters looking to install Ads.txt.

Download the IAB PDF guide about Ads.txt here

 

The Financial Times – Why Ads.txt is Beneficial

Digiday recently published an article about how The Financial Times (FT) discovered that it was the victim of programmatic domain spoofing on a significant scale.   The FT found its inventory was being presented as available on 10 separate ad exchanges and video ads on 15 exchanges, even though the FT doesn’t sell video advertisements programmatically.  With roughly 300 accounts selling fraudulent inventory on behalf of the FT, the domain estimates that the fraudulent inventory to be worth $1.3 million USD on the yet to be named exchanges. The discovery of the massive fraud coincides with the launch of Ads.txt. It’s an interesting article – read the rest of the blog post here

 

Live Examples of Ads.txt Files on Top Websites

 

 

At Total Media, we have already have an abundance of experience working with premium publishers seeking to maximize their ROI with Ads.txt.  If you would like assistance with Ads.txt, we can help you with everything along the way in addition to providing you with the finest consultation. If you would like assistance with Ads.txt you can reach us here or if you would like to join Total Media’s monetization program for premium publishers click here.

 

Brian Blondy is the Marketing Manager at Total Media.  You can contact Brian by email at brian@totalmediasolutions.com or on LinkedIn

 

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16 Oct

What is Ads.txt and Why is it a Hot Topic Right Now?

Intro to Ads.txt

Developed through the IAB Tech Lab project, ads.txt (Authorized Digital Sellers), is a tool created for publishers to allow for a public declaration of the companies approved to sell their digital inventory.

The IAB states on their website that the purpose of the tool is to “increase transparency in the programmatic advertising ecosystem.” Ads.txt aims to give publishers control over the end-to-end distribution of their inventory. The tool strives to eliminate counterfeit inventory (display, video and mobile ad units) from being sold across the ecosystem.

As more and more publishers adopt the Ads.txt tool, interested buyers will be in a position to evaluate requests being sent to their buying platform from websites, which in turn aims to raise confidence that the inventory they are seeking to purchase is 100% authentic and non-fraudulent.

At Total Media, we have already have an abundance of experience working with premium publishers seeking to maximize their ROI with Ads.txt.  If you would like assistance with Ads.txt, we can help you with everything along the way in addition to providing you with the finest premium monetization available for publishers.

Click here to register for Total Media’s Ads.txt safe monetization program for premium publishers.

 

How Does Ads.txt Work?

According to a recent article published by Ad Ops Insider, the process in which Ads.txt increases transparency and brand safety works like this:

Publishers put a file on their server that says exactly which companies they sell their inventory through.  The file lists partners by name, but also includes the publisher’s account ID.  This is the same ID buyers see in a bid request, which they can use as a key for campaign targeting.

Buyers use a web crawler to download all the ads.txt files and the information contained within on a regular basis and use it to target their campaigns.   This means buyers know that if they bid on request that comes from an authorized ID, it’s coming from a source the publisher trusts or has control over.  

 

Why is Ads.txt Important?

The emergence of Ads.txt marks a milestone in the industry and provides empowerment to publishers to take back control of who represents their inventory and brand.

 

Who is Using Ads.txt

According to the recent article published Ad Ops Insider, adoption of Ads.txt by publishers is growing quickly in 2017.

Through a self-created web crawler in Python, Kneen was able to deduce from a pool of 1,930 domains from the top 10,000 websites ranked on Alexa that approx. 13% of these publishers ranked in the top 10,000 websites listed on Alexa globally are publishing a Ads.txt file, including ESPN.com, WashingtonPost.com and CNN.com.

Kneen breaks down the types of publishers that are publishing files and their most common partners (Google is tops, unsurprisingly), and makes recommendations for how to improve on the Ads.txt concept.

 

Why You Should Know About Ads.Txt

The fight against fraud in the ecosystem appears be heating up as publisher adoption of the tool is increasing. Though only time will time how the ecosystem will look once both the Sell and Buy side integrate it into their products and processes.

Potential interim pitfalls include:

  • Drop in revenues for Publishers
  • Reduced reach for Advertisers

 

Other Useful Links:   

Where Can I Find Out More? https://iabtechlab.com/ads-txt/

How to Add to Your Website https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pMPC3XK2LO0

IAB Explanation: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qW3AYYO9yYc

Ads.txt Overview by AdOps Insider – http://www.adopsinsider.com/ad-exchanges/ads-txt-adoption/

 

Brian Blondy is the Marketing Manager at Total Media.  You can contact Brian by email at brian@totalmediasolutions.com or on LinkedIn

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03 Jul

How to Make $20,000 from One Ad Unit!

 

Introduction

In our experience, creating a website is simple. Either you build it yourself through a clever pre-built template from companies such as Wix or Squarespace or you can hire a web designer to create something that suits your needs. The end result is often a difficult project with limited experience.

Though where things get really tough is building up a loyal user base that will drive revenue from your sites’ traffic monetization.

After working with publishers of all sizes across the world, we’ve come to understand that what helps publishers achieve an effective monetization strategy, and subsequent revenue flow, is building visitor base through consistent and persistent content creation and publishing.

Without a frequent stream of original published content, your site will not attract and retain enough visitors to monetize.

The goal of this post is to underscore the importance of using your published content to push your website to new levels of financial success. The planning, execution and evaluation of your content strategy will influence the eventual success of your monetization strategy.

In this article we will dive into why content is the core driver of web traffic and how increasing your web traffic from unique content will be the primary catalyst for your website’s monetization growth.

If the idea of earning $20,000 USD or more per year from one ad unit on your website is your goal, read on so you know how to begin planning and executing the necessary steps and understandings to reach your financial goals with your website.

 

The Importance of Content

It is our belief that content is the gasoline that drives your financial growth in the long term.

The decision to embrace a content-first strategy reflects an effort to have your content be at the center of everything you do and how your company/website aims to attract new customers/readers.

Everything your website represents will be displayed through your content and subsequently, will be amplified to attract visitors to your website that will view and potentially click on your ad units. The more updated and interesting your content, the more visitors will come to your website, and the more valuable your CPM prices will be for purchase via direct sales and through programmatic markets.

 

For your Ad Units to be Financially Valuable, Your Content Needs to be:

  • Published on a frequent basis
  • Relevant and unique to your target audience
  • Well-written and grammatically correct
  • Original in nature – meaning not aggregated from third-party sources
  • Timely and self-aware of its purpose
  • Useful to explaining, solving or demystifying a challenging or popular/interesting topic.
  • Properly referenced

 

The Key Benefits of Excellent Content:

  • New traffic to your website through SEO (Google, Bing, etc.)
  • Higher CTRs
  • Establish your website as a thought-leader on particular topics
  • Each new piece of content will act as a separate revenue stream for your website
  • Content influences and converts visitors into paying customers
  • Higher CPMs for your ad units
  • Social engagement – Shares on online social networks

 

Focusing on Your Content Strategy

Creating content for your business is a large part of an effective marketing strategy for attracting your target audience.  The central goal of good content creation should be to publish posts which fulfil the needs and interests of your current and ideal readers/customers.

Through your content your company will have an excellent opportunity to connect with interested individuals whom are seeking influencers to enrich their interests and potential business needs.

The trick is to finely tune your content marketing strategy in order to build out a plan of content which is specific and repeatedly clustered around particular subject areas.  The core benefits here would be to publish on a consistent schedule and to begin being categorized by Google’s search result algorithms as an influential and focused publisher for user search results.

Google will eventually pick up on your content’s subject consistency and begin aggregating your posts in search results relative to your content’s topical focus.  If you achieve this, you have a winning content creation strategy.

If enough people begin clicking on your content, well, then the good times start to roll:

  • Higher search rankings on your posts in search results
  • Better status in your industry as an influencer on your subject matter
  • Higher CPMs for your website’s ad units

 

Your New Monetization Strategy

Once you have the content strategy in place, now you have to think about the monetization strategy. There are a number of ways that you can monetize your website. It is obvious that first you must define the appropriate ad slots on your pages, decide which areas will be sold at a premium rate and which ad slots can be secondary for lower prices.

Your monetization strategy will most likely be a combination of direct and indirect selling. For the sake of this content, we will focus on the indirect channels method, specifically, through Google AdSense or DoubleClick AdExchange.

When going indirect, you must keep in mind the platform policies of monetizing your content through various platforms. Each platform allows certain ratio of ad units placed on your pages vs the content around it. Google for example, requires over 50% content on the page. In addition, one must take note of ad placement policies of each platform which will determine the success of your monetization strategy as well.

 

Earning $20,000 a Year Starts from an Ad Unit Yielding $55 a Day! 

Let’s say that you have gotten your content strategy and monetization strategy all lined up. What would you specifically need to do to reach $20K from one Ad Unit through indirect/programmatic channels? What should be your expectations?

First, we should break down the bigger goal into smaller goals. So if the number you are going for is $20K/year, what would it be on a daily basis?

$55 per day in revenue is what we are looking to achieve ($20,000 per year / 365 days)

In order to earn $55 per day, we’ve created a set of plausible scenarios of what would have to happen:

  • 55 pages on your site earning $1 per day
  • 110 pages each earning $0.50 per day
  • 220 pages posts each earning $0.25 per day

There is one additional parameter that you should track, and that is how many pages your visitors view per each visit – # of pageviews.

Let’s say that your website has 220 pages, each of which features one ad-unit of ADX, for you an average Cost per Mil (CPM) of $0.25.  In addition, your visitors visit on average 2 articles per each visit – 2 pageview per visit.

With the above in mind, in order for you to reach your daily goal of $55, you would need to generate 220K impressions per day to your website. This translates to 110K visits per day at 2 pages visited per user.

Now, you may think that it sounds like a pretty big number. You may wonder how you drive 110,000 visitors to your site on daily basis. The good news is, that by altering any of the components of the above equation, you are able to achieve your goals quicker and easier.

It should be pointed out that the CPM rate of your website ad units will fluctuate based on your core topics and the geographic location of your visitor traffic.

If a majority of your visitors are from a tier-one markets (North America, Western Europe, etc.) and your website’s content is featured in a competitive vertical, it’s likely that your CPM would be higher than featured in this example.

Let’s look into what happens when your CPM rate is increased from $0.25 to $0.40 through good traffic, intelligent content and expert ad optimization.

 

$55 per day / 0.40 CPM = 138 x 1000 = 138,000 page views per day (50M per year)

Keeping the 2 page view average per visit, you will be able to achieve your goal with just 69,000 visitors per day.

This is an interesting example because it shows that with just a small $0.15 increase in average CPM, from $0.25 to $0.40, you will arrive to your goal much faster and with fewer visitors.

Consequently, you will earn much higher monthly revenue if your visitor base remains the same as in the original example, 110K. Within this scenario, your site will earn a massive 160% increase in profit because the $0.15 bump will reward your site with an additional $12,000 USD annually from the consistent stream of visitors that you’re already been receiving.  The beauty in this is that the same traffic, arriving at a 60% increase in price per CPM, would be $12,000 USD more profitable, compounded and advantageous for your financial goals.

 

Strategies for Increasing Your Revenue

We would like to advice you to diversify your monetization sources.  Publishers are not limited to only using AdSense on their website.  You are free to add new monetization channels in parallel within your monetization strategy!

By adding additional channels of monetization or re-organizing/optimizing your ad stack into your ad waterfall, your goal of making $20,000 a year from an ad unit can be easily overachieved due to  additional monetization revenue.

Furthermore, with the push to produce more content (hopefully you’re already thinking about adding unique video content as well) on your website, matched with the monetized posts with direct and organic site traffic, your revenue growth will be compounded with every impression that occurs on every one of your website’s pieces of content.

 

Conclusion

While at first it may feel like taking a deep dive into the unknown with so many intriguing options available to publishers, we completely appreciate that adding new monetization solutions to your website is not a straightforward and simple process.  Regardless, you shouldn’t be hesitant to press forward and try to do whatever you can to improve your monthly revenue.

Your website should be a vehicle for making money and we’re here to assist you along the way to amplify your monthly ad revenue. Regardless of the size of your website or your current CPM rate, Total Media can enable your website to add all of these effective monetization streams to your website and then expertly manage all of the complex optimization thereafter.

We hope the writing of this post has assisted you to better understand the benefits of looking into the ways to increase website traffic from content and how to view the ways it is possible to increase the revenue you can earn from your traffic. We hope that we have empowered you with valuable information which may make your website’s revenue potential more viable than it is today.

 

 

 

Brian Blondy is the Marketing Manager at Total Media.  You can contact Brian by email at brian(at)totalmediasolutions(dot)com or on LinkedIn

 

 

 

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22 Mar

5 Ways to Boost Your Website Monetization!

 

Introduction

If you’re a publisher and you’ve been thinking aloud that you’re not making enough money from your website, then you’re definitely experiencing a very common reality among publishers of all sizes.

The decision to take action to improve your revenue could be the most essential step you can make towards strengthening your website’s profitability and future-proofing your digital portfolio for years to come.

Today we will expose some of the most beneficial options for generating significant financial returns for your website, specifically, by optimizing your display, mobile ad units through preferred deals and private auctions, choosing between Google AdX and Google AdSense, and lastly, adding video monetization in order to earn significant CPMs.

We believe that website monetization is an essential financial lifeline and is the most important aspect to focus on for increasing website revenue.  Since there are so many ways to improve your revenue, let’s get started!

 

Programmatic Optimization

These days we see the struggle publishers face in striving to keep pace with all of the new programmatic advancements emerging in the marketplace.  Both publishers and advertisers are navigating frequent and ever-changing technologies constantly emerging in the programmatic industry. There is no doubt that there is a lot to know and a lot to do whether it’s simply optimizing an ad stack, exposing inventory on strategic display and mobile ad networks or working with an expert optimization specialist like Total Media.

For publishers committed to programmatic on both display and mobile, it is essential to be up-to-date in order to create the highest value for themselves and their advertisers. In particular, two of the most beneficial programmatic technologies currently available are preferred deals and private auctions.

 

 

Preferred Deals

Preferred Deals allow individual buyers to negotiate fixed-price, first-look deals with sellers.  The CPM is generally higher than regular programmatic and on par with direct sales because advertisers are seeking impressions based on the specific data available or gathered by the advertiser previously.

Preferred deals are based on direct agreements between publishers and advertisers where generally advertisers approach the publishers about specific ad sizes, placements and audiences and the two parties negotiate a specific fixed price for the impressions amongst themselves.

What’s unique about preferred deals is that they are executed programmatically.  Whereas once advertisers would simply send publishers an ad tag which would link to the allocated ad placement, now the entire execution runs through DSPs and SSPs (e.g. DoubleClick AdX & DoubleClick Bid Manager), where a deal ID get things moving along.

 

 

Private Auctions

Private auctions are programmatic deals that allow publishers to create a higher-priority auction available only to white-listed buyers of their choosing for specific inventory the publisher desires to make available. One such SSP allowing private auctions is DoubleClick Ad Exchange (AdX) by Google, which when setup through DoubleClick for Publishers (DFP) delivers the best results for publishers. Any advertiser interested in participating in a private auction is recommended to be using a DSP (such as DoubleClick Bid Manager).

Within the private auction, publishers establish a specific floor price with the chosen advertisers and lets this small group of buyers compete in an exclusive, private programmatic marketplace auction. The floor price, in general, is higher than that of the open marketplace, so the buyers can pick and choose the premium impressions that they would like to bid on based on certain known parameters beforehand.

 

Video Monetization 

In recent years, featuring monetized video content on a website has become an important avenue for publishers to consider within their monetization plans. Video content is a highly effective method for both engaging website visitors as well as providing the ever-growing pool of advertisers a means for running video programmatic advertising campaigns.

While many publishers jump right in and adopt video, most have chosen not to, whether due to lack of video content, site layout or even due to knowledge how to implement the technology in the correct manner.

The decision to not feature video could be a strategic mistake for publishers.  Video is increasingly proving to be the best way for publishers to increase their current revenue stream through opening themselves up to receiving significantly higher CPMs as compared to display advertising.

This is due to the fact that advertisers are continuing to adopt video advertising as an essential method for delivering their message and are willing to pay premium prices for interested and longer engaged audiences.

 

Google AdSense

As the standard monetization default for websites, AdSense is the world’s largest contextual ad network enabling online publishers of any size to monetize their website and mobile assets.  AdSense includes ads displayed in search engine results, Google products and on the Google Display Network (GDN). AdSense serves high fill rates, with almost unlimited demand. It offers fast and reliable payment in most regions and the security of working with Google.

Whether you have recently added or you have been using AdSense on your website for years already, the essential question to ask yourself is whether you are making enough money with Google AdSense.

We are constantly hearing from our clients that are only using AdSense on their website and are apprehensive to move on from it despite being dissatisfied by the revenue it is generating.  We agree that AdSense is a great option for growing publishers and we understand the concern they express when discussing whether or not to drop AdSense for another monetization solution.

Conversely, there are additional methods for optimizing ad units in addition to various monetization solutions that a publisher could add that would open up excellent possibilities to further monetize their current traffic and grow revenue exponentially through strategically placed ad units and expert ad unit optimization.

 

DoubleClick AdX

DoubleClick Ad Exchange (AdX) is Google’s programmatic platform featuring Real Time Bidding (RTB) technology for premium websites to be paired with premium advertisers. AdX pairs buyers and sellers across the industry and works with premium publishers and advertisers in the world’s largest real-time programmatic RTB bidding exchange. Connected to ad networks, agencies, and third-party demand-side platforms, the AdX marketplace is driven by advertiser demand, conducted via live auction for the ad units.

If you have more than 5M visitors on your website per month, then you can and absolutely should switch over to AdX.  Publishers featuring AdX on their websites are exposed to the world’s most premium advertisers who are eager to spend significant advertising budgets on sites that are widely trafficked.  Just this difference alone between membership in AdSense and/or AdX equates into a significant financial gain for the publisher who qualifies and begins using AdX.

In addition, AdX reaches its full potential when it is enabled to compete with other networks via Google’s ad serving platform – DoubleClick for Publishers (DFP). By utilizing DFP (either Small Business or Premium), publishers can rotate between ad networks for their ad units in addition to directly selling ad space to advertisers, while always striving for 100% fill rates through the real-time competition since added competition for ad units drives the CPMs higher.

With a multitude of demand sources in competition for more of your website’s ad units (5 instead of AdSense’s 3), more bidders are involved for more ad units and the stridently pushing higher the price of the winning bids for your ad units.  In the end, there’s no comparison, publishers make significantly more money by having AdX paired with DFP on their website.

Ultimately, if you’re a publisher who is aiming to maximize your advertising revenue and your website has over 5M visitors per month, then graduating to AdX should be your goal.

  • Sell your ad space to the highest-paying buyers in real-time
  • Increase revenues from premium and remnant inventory
  • Detailed reports on all of your inventory
  • Realize higher margins

 

If you would like to join AdX and potentially make more money from your traffic, Total Media can assist you in making this happen and putting your website on the path to maximizing your financial yield from advertising.

Though if your website doesn’t have millions of impressions per month, chances are that you have already added AdSense to your website as one of your first decisions for monetizing your website.

 

Conclusion

While at first it may feel like taking a deep dive into the unknown with so many intriguing options available to publishers, we completely appreciate that adding new monetization solutions to your website is not a straightforward and simple process.  Regardless, you shouldn’t be hesitant to press forward and try to improve your monthly revenue.

Your website should be a vehicle for making money and we’re here to assist you along the way to amplify your monthly ad revenue. Regardless of the size of your website, Total Media can enable your website to add all of these effective monetization streams to your website and then handling all of the complex optimization thereafter.

We hope the writing of this post has assisted you to better understand the programmatic landscape and it has empowered you with information to make you more website revenue than you are earning today.

 

 

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23 Jan

Programmatic Direct – The New Standard for Premium Advertisers

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Introduction

As the methods in which buyers and sellers exchange programmatic inventory continue to evolve and improve, it is vital to continue to stay up to date on the frequent changes currently taking place in the programmatic industry so your company can best maximize its involvement and success. Today, we wanted to quickly run-down the most common methods in which advertisers of all sizes are purchasing media programmatically and then we will zero in on a very dynamic method currently growing in importance for premium advertisers, Programmatic Direct.

 

What are RTB, Private and Programmatic Direct Marketplaces?

Real-time Bidding (RTB) – Buying ads through computer-run, real-time auctions.  The buyer/advertiser only knows the category, not the actual website that the ads will appear on.

Private Marketplace (PMP) – An invitation only RTB auction where one publisher or a group of select publishers invite specific buyers to bid on inventory. The buyer/advertiser knows precisely which sites and ad placements their advertisements will appear on.

Programmatic Direct – Method for advertisers to automate direct ad buys for premium campaigns.  Programmatic direct incorporates both guaranteed and non-guaranteed contracts. Programmatic direct differs from real-time bidding in that it is a guaranteed-buy rather than an auction like RTB.  Publishers and advertisers are adopting programmatic direct because it allows for premium purchases to be conducted programmatically rather than through the traditional method of direct ad buys.

FYI: A good resource to check out for more information is from the iab. In particular, visit this link for a more in-depth look into Programmatic and RTB.

 

Programmatic Direct Continues to Grow in Importance for Premium Advertisers

Programmatic direct allows advertisers to receive priority access to premium inventory which previously has only been available through a direct relationship with the publisher.  Whereas programmatic was once known as a method for monetizing leftover remnant traffic, much has changed in the past few years.  Today, advertisers who were previously skeptical to use programmatic buying due to its lack of one-on-one relationship with the publisher, can now safely buy premium inventory in a programmatically automated manner.

Most commonly, the method in which a programmatic direct transaction takes place is when advertisers and publishers negotiate deals beforehand with a fixed CPM and then the actual execution of the deal happens programmatically.

Google is bullishly predicting that in the near future, “The majority of advertisers and publishers will choose to conserve resources and streamline the sales process by conducting direct deals programmatically.”  Clearly, both advertisers and publishers stand to gain huge benefits from the programmatic direct relationship because it stands to evolve and maximize the online advertising market for premium transactions.

 

Programmatic Direct – Core Benefits

Advertisers

  • First look access to premium inventory
  • Ability to use data to target campaigns with precision
  • Real-time optimization with analytics
  • Ability to segment target audiences
  • Ensure brand-safety by targeting specific websites and apps

Publishers

  • Create new partnership with advertisers for premium inventory
  • Brand safe advertisers to work with
  • New opportunities for selling premium ad units
  • Minimize unsold premium inventory and move more premium inventory more easily
  • Increase content exposure at the audience segment level
  • Optimize content to grow high value audiences
  • Demand maximum CPM rates for narrowly defined target audiences

 

At Total Media, we have an abundance of experience working with both premium advertisers and publishers with highly-trafficked websites seeking to maximize their ROI through programmatic direct.  If you would like to begin using programmatic direct on either the buy-side or the sell-side and are not sure how to begin, we can help you along the way. Feel free to contact us here for further consultation.

 

Brian Blondy is the Marketing Manager at Total Media.  You can contact Brian by email at brian@totalmediasolutions.com or on LinkedIn

 

 

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09 Feb

Digital Video in 2016 – The State of the Market for Publishers

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In 2016, digital video content will become a publisher’s most essential and effective tool for engaging and monetizing the waves of traffic visiting their websites.

According to a study conducted by Cisco on global internet traffic and the trends pushing forward in the coming years, consumer internet video traffic is expected to account for 80 percent of all consumer Internet traffic online in 2019.

Video content is so much more visually dynamic than simple textual content in how it creates an additional element of stickiness for visually pleasing and engaging users, and as a result, further lengthens website visits and overall consumption of content.

Though the clearest benefit deriving from creating and displaying video content lies in video’s ability to yield significant financial returns for publishers who pair the content with advertising. Eager advertisers are willing and ready to pay high CPMs to distribute their advertisements on the video content.

So if the benefits for having video content are clear, why haven’t more online publishers begun producing original video content in order to meet the surging demand of users and advertisers?  

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10 Dec

What You Need to Know About Preferred Deals and Private Auctions

The programmatic industry has fundamentally changed the way publishers and advertisers interact with each other and how they buy and sell premium media online. In the not-so-distant past, publishers and advertisers used to communicate directly and negotiated placements and CPM for premium ad placements amongst themselves.

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19 Aug

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